Hidden Figures Read-Alikes

From Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Article in Adult Nonfiction, African American, Biography, Diversity, Movies and Read-Alikes

This is a list of read-alikes for HIDDEN FIGURES: The American Dream and the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly

This incredible book explores the previously uncelebrated but pivotal contributions of NASA's African-American women mathematicians to America's space program, describing how Jim Crow laws segregated them from their white counterparts despite their groundbreaking successes. The following books are listed as read-alikes for similar themes and topics. You may also enjoy Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones, JMRL's NEA Big Read Selection for 2017.

If you are interested in women who advanced our knowledge of and experience with outer space, pick up one of these:


If you want to read stories about innovative women who are trailblazers in other sciences, law, medicine and more, try one of these books:

If you want to read stories about other innovative African-Americans who are trailblazers in their own right, try one of these books:

  • 92 Carver, George Washington
George Washington Carver: A Life by Christina Vella
  • 92 Marshall, Thurgood
Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination that Changed America by Wil Haygood
  • 92 Tyson, Neil deGrasse
The Sky is Not the Limit by Neil deGrasse Tyson