Difference between revisions of "Harry Potter Readalikes"

From Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Reformatting page and updating titles.)
(Reformatting and updating page)
Line 3: Line 3:
 
If You Liked the '''''Harry Potter''''' series by J. K. Rowling, try these books
 
If You Liked the '''''Harry Potter''''' series by J. K. Rowling, try these books
  
'''YA Barron, T.A.''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?lost+years+of+merlin '''The Lost Years of Merlin''']
+
'''YA/YA PB Barron, T.A.''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?lost+years+of+merlin '''The Lost Years of Merlin''']
 
:The first book in a series that follows the magical adventures of Merlin.  
 
:The first book in a series that follows the magical adventures of Merlin.  
  
'''YA LeGuin, Ursula''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?wizard+of+earthsea '''A Wizard of Earthsea''']
+
'''J Black, Holly''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?iron+trial '''The Iron Trial''']
 +
:Co-authored by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. In spite of his best efforts to fail the entrance exam, Callum becomes a student at the Magisterium, a dark and dangerous school of magic. During his first year, he teams up with fellow students for a series of adventures during which he begins to learn the dark secrets of his family's past.
 +
 
 +
'''J Funke, Cornelia''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?Inkheart '''Inkheart''']
 +
:Maggie's father has the magical ability to read fictional characters from books into life. She must embark on a dangerous quest to save herself and her father when one of those characters kidnaps them and tries to force them to serve him.
 +
 
 +
'''YA/YA PB LeGuin, Ursula''' [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?wizard+of+earthsea '''A Wizard of Earthsea''']
 
:Sparrowhawk, a young wizard, must track and tame a powerful darkness that he unwittingly unleashed upon the world in an act of youthful arrogance. First in a series.
 
:Sparrowhawk, a young wizard, must track and tame a powerful darkness that he unwittingly unleashed upon the world in an act of youthful arrogance. First in a series.
  
==Books by Robin McKinley==
+
Books by Robin McKinley
  
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?blue+sword '''The Blue Sword''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?blue+sword '''The Blue Sword''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?hero+and+the+crown '''The Hero and the Crown''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?hero+and+the+crown '''The Hero and the Crown''']
  
==Books by Garth Nix==
+
Books by Garth Nix
  
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?sabriel '''Sabriel''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?sabriel '''Sabriel''']
Line 21: Line 27:
  
  
==The [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?circle+of+magic '''Circle of Magic'''] series by Tamora Pierce==
+
The [http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?circle+of+magic '''Circle of Magic'''] series by Tamora Pierce
  
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?sandry's+book '''Sandry's Book''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?sandry's+book '''Sandry's Book''']
Line 28: Line 34:
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?briar's+book '''Briar's Book ''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?briar's+book '''Briar's Book ''']
  
==[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?his+dark+materials '''His Dark Materials''']  series by Philip Pullman==
+
[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?his+dark+materials '''His Dark Materials''']  series by Philip Pullman
  
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?golden+compass '''The Golden Compass''']
 
*[http://aries.jmrl.org/search/t?golden+compass '''The Golden Compass''']

Revision as of 20:43, 31 December 2015

Article in the Juvenile Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, and Read-Alikes categories.

If You Liked the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling, try these books

YA/YA PB Barron, T.A. The Lost Years of Merlin

The first book in a series that follows the magical adventures of Merlin.

J Black, Holly The Iron Trial

Co-authored by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. In spite of his best efforts to fail the entrance exam, Callum becomes a student at the Magisterium, a dark and dangerous school of magic. During his first year, he teams up with fellow students for a series of adventures during which he begins to learn the dark secrets of his family's past.

J Funke, Cornelia Inkheart

Maggie's father has the magical ability to read fictional characters from books into life. She must embark on a dangerous quest to save herself and her father when one of those characters kidnaps them and tries to force them to serve him.

YA/YA PB LeGuin, Ursula A Wizard of Earthsea

Sparrowhawk, a young wizard, must track and tame a powerful darkness that he unwittingly unleashed upon the world in an act of youthful arrogance. First in a series.

Books by Robin McKinley

Books by Garth Nix


The Circle of Magic series by Tamora Pierce

His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman